Grammy, Don’t You Know Anything About Football?

Are you a sports fan?  A football fan? Would you rather watch or play sports…or avoid sports altogether?

Personally, I preIMG_0165fer to avoid all spectator sports, except when the game includes a grandson. Like last Saturday when Hubby and I watched Grandson’s football squad play against another 6th grade team.IMG_0171

I found it strange that Grandson never touched the football during the game. But as he explained, “I’m a lineman, Grammy. My job is to block the other team, not get the ball.”

The sound of bodieIMG_0168s smashing against each other sounded disconcerting. However… “Grammy, those sounds are good. That means our padding is doing its job.”

Grandson’s team won, but I felt sorry for the other team. They played a good game.

Another grandson went out for cross country. In that sport there are no balls to hit, throw, kick, or fight over. No bodies collide with each other. Team members only run.

Now that I can understand.

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grammy, Don’t You Know Anything About Football?

  1. kellyfbarr says:

    Hi Kathie, It was a pleasure to meet you today. You have a very creative mind.
    I love this post! I have never had an interest in sports either, until my sons wanted to play. I have come to absolutely love watching my oldest play soccer and my middle son play basketball. I’ve even learned a lot more about each of those sports.
    Please don’t give up on your writing. You’ll get used to this social media stuff. It’s just not in our genes, as it seems to be in the younger generations’ genes. ;D

    • Kelly…Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. I enjoy writing but social media is not my thing. It was a joy to meet you at the conference. Are you in a critique group? If not, there’s always email. I believe you have mine. Kathie

Leave a comment