Kids Say the Darndest Things

IMG_3515Some things never change.

Decades ago Art Linkletter penned the book, Kids Say the Darndest Things, using quips from the children on his show, Art Linkletter’s House Party.

And kids today still say the darndest things, as several tykes recently reminded me.

Last week, a friend and her three little ones came over to use our pool. Since swimming always makes kids hungry, we took a snack break.

An Oreo dropped to the ground and I knelt down to pick it up. The six-year-old hurried over, eyes filled with concern, and asked, “Do you need help getting back up?”

Although deeply touched by her compassion, the question took me by surprise. I swim, backpack, kayak, hike, and bike. Yet to her young mind, I must look very old with my gray hair.

Over the weekend, our twin grandsons couldn’t wait to take us to one of their favorite restaurants – one serving authentic Mexican food.

While we grown-ups salivated over a menu of enchiladas, fajitas, burritos, fried rice, and such, the boys made their choice.  J.A. ordered a kids pizza and L.G. asked for a small cheeseburger with fries. Of course.

Without a doubt, children add a spice to life we grown-ups lose somewhere along the way.

 

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Aging, Country Living, Food, grandparenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kids Say the Darndest Things

  1. Carolyn Knepper says:

    Oh Kathie…this is too funny!! I laughed out loud. You are quite the fit grandma :>)!!

    Hope your days are great…I know you are always busy. Some of my garden stuff is starting to find down. Some onions were ready to pull and my potatoes are petering out already. I guess their ‘season’ is about up…as we moving in August already. Where does the time go. I was thinking the other day of the hikers out there in the heat wave. I thought to myself I was glad to not be on the trail right now…waaay too hot for me.

    Hugs…C

Leave a Reply

