If It’s Red…

Although dreading the loss of several hours that morning, I took our Rav 4 to the dealer’s garage for a courtesy check-up. Although it seemed like everyone had brought their car in that morning, the garage mechanics finished with our vehicle in record time.

The man at the check-out desk handed me the lone key and pointed. “That’s your car, over there, hidden behind the other vehicles.” I followed his gaze and spotted our car’s red roof in the farthest garage bay.

Anxious to get on with that day’s to-do list, I hurried around the other vehicles and hopped into ours. I slipped the key into the ignition, but something seemed off kilter.

Then I noticed  a jumble of plastic bags on the front seat, bags that weren’t ours. Strange, these mechanics had always been meticulous in keeping our cars clean. A glance into the back seat revealed a gym bag and sweatshirt.

The awful truth dawned. This was a red Rav 4 but not our red Rav 4. I scooted out of the car and actually looked at the vehicle for the first time. This car was several years older than ours and even had a different design.

I returned the key to the apologetic check-out man who said our car would be ready in a few minutes.

Was I mad? No.  Embarrassed? Yes.

This mix-up was as much, if not more, my fault as the check-out man’s. It simply exposed an undeniable fact: The make, model or year of a car doesn’t matter to me. I go by color. If it’s red, it must be ours.

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

