Dump-It-In Cooking

I’m a dump-it-in cook. And since opposites attract, Hubby is not. He follows a recipe exactly, down to the last grain of salt in a measured teaspoon. He even shaves off extra in a cup of flour with the flat side of a knife. And I have to admit, his creations are yummy.

But I can’t resist tampering with a recipe. For me, ‘close enough’ and ‘looks okay’ or ‘let’s try this’ are more exciting. That’s why I seldom follow a recipe as written.

Yesterday I made homemade granola. The original recipe ingredients are:IMG_2737

1 Cup Coconut Oil                                                       1 Cup Honey                                                                 ½ Cup Brown Sugar                                                     4 Teaspoons Vanilla                                                     2 Teaspoons Cinnamon                                               5 Cups Uncooked Oatmeal

One nice thing about homemade granola, it literally screams ADD WHATEVER YOU CAN FIND IN THE PANTRY!

IMG_2738So I did. After omitting most of the coconut oil, I added a jar of all-natural crunchy peanut butter. Since sugar is bad for my cholesterol, I dumped in several scoops of baking Splenda and left out the honey. Then I melted this mixture IMG_2744over low heat on the stove.

Once it melted, I dumped in several shakes of cinnamon from the spoon-out side of the container’s lid because the shake-out side takes too long. It didn’t seem like enough, so I dumped in some more.

Now came the time to remove this liquid mixture from the hot burner and add vanilla. After pouring what looked like a decent amount of vanilla into the mixture, the peanut butter stiffened up. Weird. My solution: add more coconut oil and reheat. It worked!

IMG_2739Now for the dry ingredients. Almonds always sit in our pantry. I ground up a handful or so of them along with a bag of shredded coconut and added this to the oatmeal. After whisking these together, I added the peanut butter mixture.

Once mixed together, the granola seemed a bit on the dry side. Adding another jar of melted all-natural crunchy peanut butter fixed that problem.

IMG_2746This batch filled three pans. Then I decided to dump a few more shakes of cinnamon into each pan before baking.

The granola baked in the oven for 10 minutes at 375°F. Then I took it out, stirred and returned it to the still hot but turned-off oven. The granola sat in the cooling oven overnight. (oven door closed, of course)

The aroma of cinnamon floated throughout our house all evening. Delightful!

Today I checked the pantry for possible additions to the baked granola. Raisins will work, and chocolate chips. Oops, no chips, they contain sugar.

As the old saying goes, variety is the spice of life. Spice, hmm—maybe next time I’ll try adding cloves and ginger, or ground red pepper and dried jalapenos, or…

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dump-It-In Cooking

  1. kellyfbarr says:

    I’ve only begun doing a big of dump it cooking. I’ve always been a stick to the recipe kind of gal, although there have been a couple of times I’ve substituted something I had for something the recipe called for that I didn’t have. Anyway, I love this idea! It makes granola much easier than the recipe I have been following. I think I’ll have to try this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Laurie says:

    Red pepper and jalapenos…fabulous out-of-the-box ideas for this!

  3. This is me and my hubby too haha. I’ve been scared to try my own granola but maybe I will now!

    • As long as the granola is not over baked, I don’t think it’s possible to ruin it. And always use either quick cooking or old fashioned oats, not steel cut. Dump away and have fun!

  4. Dump-It-In Cooking is right up my alley. My favorite? Stuffed pepper soup. Dump it all in that crock pot and let it simmer for 2 to 3 hours. Yummy!

  5. akateacher says:

    I am a dump-it-in type cook too….and am fortunate that hubby is, as well. He says he can’t cook, but he comes up with some pretty creative and tasty things! Will definitely have to try your modified granola recipe….I like the substitutions! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

