My Stone Soup

IMG_1087As a kid did you read the story of Stone Soup? It’s a folk tale about a town refusing to share its food with a hungry traveler.

The traveler, being a quick-witted guy, unpacked his cooking pot and filled it with water, along with a large stone, from a nearby stream. He then returned to the town square and built a fire under his pot.

The curious town folks came by. “What are you cooking?”

The traveler stirred his pot. “Stone soup. I”ll let you have a bowl when it’s done. But it would taste better with some cabbage.”

“I have a head of cabbage.” A woman ran home to fetch it.

The traveler stirred the soup again. “It would taste better with a few potatoes….”

Eventually each of the town folks brought a little of this and a little of that and the soup turned into a tasty stew.

This story crossed my mind as I peered into our refrigerator. Not that there was a lack of food, but that it contained a little of this and a little of that, and most needed to be eaten soon or it would go bad.

Why not make stone soup, minus the stone. And I could add a few things from the freezer that were ready to get freezer-burned. The food combination would be a bit strange, but nothing ventured, nothing gained.

I pulled a container of chicken broth out of the freezer along with mashed squash, mashed pumpkin, and cooked turkey. From the fridge came sauerkraut, sweet potatoes, onions, and avocado. I found beans and rice in the pantry.

I added a few spices for extra flavor: rosemary, ginger, parsley, turmeric, and dry ranch dressing.

The soup simmered on the stove for several hours. I ladled some into a bowl and ate it with homemade bread. To my surprise, the odd food combo had turned into one of the best tasting stews I’ve ever eaten. The flavors meshed into a delicious blend. Yum, yum!

I’m sad to say the soup cannot be duplicated. Nothing was measured, and I don’t remember what all went into it.

But I guess that’s the attraction of stone soup, never the same twice and always a surprise.

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Stone Soup

  1. kellyfbarr says:

    I’ve always loved the story of Stone Soup. It’s fun to experiment with things. The other evening I made my homemade bread filling/stuffing. I’ve made it the exact same way for years, until last Christmas when we had dinner with my parents and my dad had changed his recipe. He now adds different spices. So, back to the other evening, I made it with some spices. I asked my oldest son, who’s not a big fan of filling/stuffing, if he liked it, and he said, “Yes, but it’s not as good as the last time you made it.”

    Well, that’s because I had done like you did with your stone soup. I now just dump whatever spices I think seem like a good idea at the time and I don’t measure, so it no longer comes out the same way twice. 😀

  2. Karis says:

    Sounds like your kind of soup!!

  3. suemidd48 says:

    I love taking things from the pantry and experimenting. Never related it to Stone Soup though – good connection! Looks yummy. 😉

Leave a Reply

