Not Now!

It never happens at a convenient time. It never even happens at a somewhat convenient time. But to refuse…well, that’s usually not a good thing.

Our Sunday afternoon get-together had ended. Although Hubby and I had greatly enjoyed the gathering of friends, we were very tired from the pre-work of cleaning the house, preparing snacks and munchies, and clearing away snow to make room for parking.

As we put away leftover food and gathered up folding chairs, we decided to end the day with a relaxing evening — watching a DVD and a cozy fire in the fireplace.

But my phone rang before I finished clearing the table. The hospital had a NODA vigil that evening and needed me to sit with a patient for several hours.

I reluctantly said yes to the vigil and goodbye to my relaxing evening. Why does the opportunity to help someone always pop up at a bad time?

Then I wondered if there ever is a “good time” to lend a hand to another? Probably not. And if I waited for the “right time” it’s doubtful I’d ever help anyone.

That evening I completed my two-hour watch. And, no surprise here, I received way more than I gave. Strange how it usually works that way.

My conclusion…if I’m ever too busy to help out a person in need, I am definitely too busy.

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Now!

  1. I work nights in the hospital. When we need volunteers like you, it is because family is unable/unwilling to stay and we have not enough staff to monitor and keep the patient safe. We really appreciate our volunteers. We don’t often call, but when we do, volunteers become our super heroes! Thank you, on behalf of those who called you.

    • Thank you for your kind words. Does your hospital have a NODA program? We have received a lot of positive feedback from the families of those patients we have served.

      • I hadn’t looked at what NODA means. We have “friends” which are trained by our chaplains. Unfortunately, not many of them can sit at night.

      • NODA stands for No One Dies Alone. I wrote two separate blogs about it a few months back that should still be available to read. We go through NODA training and have bi-monthly meetings. We are called in when a person is believed to have less than 72 hours to live and (1) there is no family living (2) family has to travel from out of town and we stay until they arrive (3) exhausted family members need to go home and sleep. If you google NODA, info should pop up. It’s a great program but needs to be run correctly or it can cause problems. Our program is terrific. We are a small hospital but have around 40 NODA volunteers and can keep a vigil for several days without wearing out one or two people.

Leave a Reply

