The Dreads

IMG_0658It’s the season when those nasty dreads sneak up from behind and erupt full blown. It’s not that I don’t know they’re coming, it’s more like I see them in the distance but ignore them for too long. Then WHAM, they’re upon me.

The dreads—those letters that go into Christmas cards. Every year I look forward to hearing from faraway friends and reading their yuletime notes, but I despise composing my own.

It’s easy to write about the grandkids and what’s happening with Hubby and me, but it’s hard to do in a way that’s interesting and doesn’t sound like bragging.

Ooohh, those ghastly dreads….

But they got fooled this year. No one is getting a letter from us. Instead, our friends will find a pictorial of sorts tucked inside our Christmas card.

I downloaded several family snapshots taken over the past few months, added a sentence to each, and Presto! A completed Christmas letter.

Ha, ha…those dreads disappeared quicker than a snowman on a sunny day. And I don’t expect them back next year.

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Dreads

  1. What a clever idea to just send pictures instead of a letter. I’m downsizing my Christmas card list every year. Call me Scrooge, but at .50 a pop for each mailing, I think the money could be used better elsewhere. Most cards are just pitched anyway, which is a shame. A few years ago, our church made Christmas card placemats for our missionaries around the world. A good use for some beautiful cards instead of being thrown in the garbage can.

    • For another new idea, try Marsha’s suggestion about turning Christmas cards into placemats. On another note, I may need some help with my camera. Bought a Rebel T3i on black Friday. Now need to figure out how to use it.

Leave a Reply

