Encounters of the Baffling Kind

IMG_0436No, we’re not being invaded by space aliens. It’s a picture of a corn harvester in the field in front of our house — after dark.

I tried taking nighttime pictures with my little point-and-shoot camera. Obviously it didn’t work. But nothing ventured, nothing gained.

It sounds like an oxymoron, but every serious writer needs a digital camera. So last summer I bought a little point-and-shoot and started snapping pictures.

And guess what? It’s lots of fun. Now I’d like a camera that can do more than my little point-and-shoot, but which one?

To a novice like myself, camera choices are endless and confusing. I found over seventy-five different brands with hundreds of models in over fourteen colors, including camouflage. And what does a camera do in smile mode?

Then there are the reviews by folks who have purchased cameras—sometimes helpful but not always. For the exact same camera one person wrote “best purchase I ever made”, and another “terrible, using it as an expensive paper weight”.

Black Friday is coming and Best Buy is advertising terrific deals on a Nikon Coolpix L830 and a Canon DSLR Rebel T3i—two totally different cameras. Any suggestions or comments to help a novice?

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

 

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Encounters of the Baffling Kind

  1. kellyfbarr says:

    I have been taking pictures for many years and have been told by one professional photographer that I have a natural photographer’s eye (and that was still during film cameras), and another professional photographer told me that I am a professional whether I take photos as a career or not, and I have done school photos for several friends and I have done quite a few weddings. All that being said, I would definitely recommend the Canon. I have a Canon Rebel myself and I love it and it takes great photos, and yes, I have more than one lens for it, so it is great to have additional lenses for different types of photos. Happy shopping and shooting!

    • What Rebel do you have? I’ve continued looking at cameras and wonder if one of the better point-and-shoot would be best. The ability to take wide angle pics and zoom is a must, but that limits the selection of point-and-shoot. How hard is it to lug around your Rebel? Take on hikes? How overwhelming was it to learn how to use? I don’t care to have professional looking photos, just want something to have fun with and get decent pics. Am now also considering the Nikon Coolpix P600 or Nikon Coolpix P530, both point-and-shoot models. None are cheap so I want to make the right decision. Do you have any more thoughts on the best camera?

  2. Well, it depends on what zoom power you want. Also, do you want to take close-up photos of plants and animals (insects, birds, etc.) Check those options when looking at cameras. Some cameras won’t focus real close to an object. The pictures are always fuzzy.

    • Thanks for your input. After narrowing it down to the two cameras, I’m leaning toward the Canon Rebel T3i. The lens can be changed out to whatever is needed. It seems to be a good camera for a beginner, lots to learn, but not overwhelming. The other camera does a lot but not everything I’d like. Also, a man with a how-to photography blog liked this post so I signed up to get his blogs. The ones I read of his were very helpful.

Leave a Reply

