The New Sixty

They say – whoever ‘they’ is – that age 60 is the new 40.

However, ‘they’ is wrong. Age 60 is the new 17…at least in Dick’s Sporting Goods.

While shopping in Dicks, I placed a camping stove in my cart, along with two of those green metal bottles of propane fuel for the stove. Shopping complete, I headed to a checkout counter.

Young Gal at the cash register rang up my purchases, and then said, “I need your birthdate.”

“My birthdate?”

Young Gal nodded. “Yes, I need to verify that you’re old enough to purchase the bottles of propane.”

My mouth literally dropped open. Had I just been carded to buy propane? Me…the grandmother with totally gray hair, wrinkled skin, and age-spotted hands who at that moment stood next to Teenage Grandson!

“I don’t look old enough?”

Young Gal didn’t answer my question, only smiled. “It’s company policy, I need to verify that you’re not a minor. Your birthdate goes into our computer.”

I gave her my date of birth and left the store feeling younger than I had in years. Perhaps 60 is the new 17.

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The New Sixty

  1. Reblogged this on dayspringacres and commented:
    Country grandmother is the youngest grandmother on the nation, and she has the card(ed) to prove it!

Leave a Reply

