Oh dear, I’ve arrived…

Recent foot surgery left me with a bad case of cabin fever, which only escalated when the weather suddenly turned from icy winter to cool spring temperatures. A beautiful sunny day made me even more determined to get out and enjoy the nice, though cool and windy weather.

With my foot bandaged, wrapped and covered with a warm sock, I put on the surgical shoe and grabbed my walking cane. Hubby and I bundled ourselves in hooded sweatshirts and wind breaker jackets then strolled down our long driveway and onto the road.

In truth, saying we “strolled” makes our pace sound much faster than actuality. Our walk took a while, but didn’t take us far. However, it was a milestone in my recovery. At least I thought so until …

A day or two later I chatted with my neighbor friend. She laughed and told me about an elderly couple she had seen a few days before walking slowly along the road in front of her home. The wife limped along using a cane and our neighbor assumed this unknown couple was new to the neighborhood. That is until the old couple ambled back past her home and she recognized Hubby and me.

It went downhill from there.

A few days later at church, I made a quick trip to the restroom. After washing my hands, I headed toward the door. A young teen gal walked ahead of me. She opened the door and hesitated. Glancing up at my gray hair then down at the cane, she gave me a friendly smile and held the door while I hobbled out. I thanked her but winced inside.

I had finally arrived … at old age.

http://www.countrygrandmother.wordpress.com

About Kathie Mitchell

Kathie enjoys country living, time with family, playing cornet in community bands, crafts, gardening, and writing.
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh dear, I’ve arrived…

  1. Oh, I understand so well! We’re not old; we’re injured, and we will recover.

Leave a Reply

